Sunday mornings are usually the most hectic for Nason and I.  We are among the first people to arrive at church, in order to help set up the student room for service.  As a result, one of the things that is typically cut out of the morning routine is personal grooming.  Sure, we shower, we brush our teeth, we choose what to wear, but aside from the necessary hygienic aspects of the morning routine, we don’t do much.  We leave for church, still a little asleep, with wet hair and no makeup.  I still haven’t decided if the shirt I wore with my skirt today really matched.

And yet, this morning I felt beautiful.

Later today we went to Nason’s parents’ house for lunch, and ended up staying for most of the afternoon.  My mother-in-law, Nancy, just started selling Mary Kay, and so while we were there she showed me some of the products she thought I would like.  I tried a new facial cleanser, and amazing moisturizer, and a mineral foundation, which I also loved.  I plan to buy the moisturizer and the foundation once we get paid this week.

And you know what?  Looking in the mirror, with the makeup, I felt beautiful.

I do not wear makeup every day.  I don’t really wear jewelry, or get manicures, or put on perfume all the time.  It’s not that I don’t like all of it, not at all.  When I wear makeup I like the way I look.  I like jewelry, and I love the look of a manicure, and I always feel a little more girly with a spritz of perfume.  For me, all of the primping and grooming is fun.  But (unless it’s the daily habits which result in good hygiene) I don’t think it’s a necessity.

For a long time I was insecure about the way I looked.  I wasn’t comfortable in my own skin; it took me a while to really get that God makes us the way He makes us for a reason.  We are all beautiful, even if not in the conventional, worldly view of beauty, because God made us, and God doesn’t make ugly people.  Psalm 139 13-15 says, ” 

13For you formed my inward parts;
   you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works;
   my soul knows it very well.

I like makeup, and dresses, and perfume.  I think they are fun, and they make me feel girly and cute.  But I know that makeup does not make me beautiful.  God makes me beautiful, and being conscious of that fact alone makes me feel more cherished and beautiful than makeup ever could.

Challenge: Go one day without makeup, or perfume, or whatever you can not bear to leave the house without doing (aside from showering, brushing teeth, etc).  Try it for one day.  Keep in the front of your mind that you are beautiful, with or without the ‘beauty’ products.  Tape Psalm 139 to your car visor or mirror if that helps.

