“You’re married???”

“Yep.”

“Wait, to who?”

“To Nason (I point out Nason)”

“But…you’re married!”

“…Yeah…”

“How old are you?”

“21”

“Oh my goodness!  How old is he?”

“21”

“Oh my goodness!”

That is how the conversation went last night with two newer Middle School students.  Though they made me laugh, they didn’t surprise me.  This conversation is really nothing new in my life.  I have been having it with people for the last year and a half, since Nason and I first got engaged. 

We’ve been married almost a year, and yes, we’re both 21.  Married life is something we are both happily adjusted to by now, so it always throws me a little when people are surprised by our relationship.  I actually had a few people who told me it was a bad idea to get married at 20.  Fortunately, I did not heed their advice, and a year later I am extremely happy.

Here’s the way I see it (and I say this all the time): it doesn’t matter if you are 18 or 30 or even 65 when you meet the one you’re supposed to be with.  When it happens it happens, and there’s not much you can do about it.  For me, it happened at 18.  I was not going to wait longer than I had to in order to marry him; I think if we had been financially stable a year before that we would have married at 19!  As it happened, we dated for two years, and we got married on the second anniversary of our first date.  We did everything right-we were both abstinent, we went to premarital counseling, and we made sure that we has everything in order before I walked down that aisle.  We were intentional about our relationship long before Nason proposed, deciding we were going to gear it towards marriage before we had been together for even 6 months.

I know that it’s uncommon for people my age to be married.  Most of my friends are not (some are), and that’s okay.  They simply have not found ‘the one’ yet.  For us, it was different, but that’s okay too.  Though it’s not common, it’s not a cause for concern, at least in our case.  Nason and I are in it for the long haul.  We knew exactly what we were getting ourselves into when we said “I do.”

