Yesterday, I took a CPR/First Aid certification course at the Red Cross.  It was about eight hours, and I learned how to perform CPR, manipulate a person into a ‘rescue position,’ make a sling, and use an AED.  I learned how to check for signs of life and what to look for when determining if somebody is having heat stroke or if they are going into shock.  I like being prepared for difficult situations.  I have taken First Aid, defensive driving courses, and hopefully in the future I will take the classes to obtain a concealed weapons permit.

However, I sincerely hope I never have to use the training I pursue.  I do not want to have to give somebody chest compressions.  I don’t want to have to save a choking infant.  I really hope that the only time I shoot a gun is on the range.  And, I don’t want to have to pull myself out of a skid on a slippery road.

But I am happy that if something were ever to go wrong, and myself or somebody else was in danger, I have the knowledge and resources available to do something about it.  I do not want to be a bystander who does not know what to do and is useless because of it.  I want to be able to help myself, or my loved ones, or even complete strangers, and I can’t do that if I lack the skills necessary for the situation.

P. S. About the concealed weapons permit…I know that concealed weapons are controversial, and I understand why that is the case.  But something I heard lately from a father stuck with me.  1 in 3 women will be assaulted at one point or another, and it is a huge fear of his because he has three daughters.  As a woman, it is a fear of mine as well.  I know that terrible things can happen in this world, and if I ever find myself in a threatening situation, I refuse to go down without a fight.  I will use whatever resources are available to me, and I would feel much better if one of those resources was a revolver that I could carry in my bag.  That is why I want to obtain the permit to carry.

