At first, when I got a WordPress account and started formatting my blog, I kept making excuses about why I couldn’t share my site with others yet.  First, I didn’t have the pages finished.  Then, I didn’t like my header.  Then, I had to change my blog’s name five times, before finally settling on the one I picked first.

Truthfully?  I was afraid.

I was afraid of what people would think about my writing, both my content and my style.  I was afraid I would do it for two weeks and then lose interest, or run out of things to say.  I was scared that nobody would read it, or worse, that everyone would read it and think it not worth reading.  Then, I linked my blog when I commented on someone else’s, and when I saw that a couple of people had clicked on it, I figured it was time, and I sent the link over Facebook.  Now, I’m very happy that I did.  Writing is always something that I’ve loved, and now I get to choose the topics and the style, with no one to tell me it’s wrong. 

In the past few years I’ve done a lot of things I was afraid of doing.  I got married, and that was a big scary step.  I sent my resume out for an internship, and I worked for a lab last semester.  Going into youth ministry was terrifying, and yet I’m still doing it after three years.  I was afraid of my low singing voice, but Nason and I still lead the band every week.  Though I am afraid, I don’t let it control my life.

I think that’s the trick; it’s okay to be afraid, but it’s not okay to give fear any authority.  There are so many things that can be done if fear is set aside, and those things are made all the more meaningful by the initial fear that is felt.  If I had not been afraid to start blogging, it would not be as big a deal to me as it is now.  I think that the fears I feel before something important make me strive to do them well, and to do it right, because to get into something despite my fears is a big deal.

So, that’s the idea, then.  Fear is not a bad thing, just something that shouldn’t control your life.

