I have been working in customer service positions since I was first employed.  First I took a position as a waitress for a small Mexican food restaurant (which is now closed), and now I am at my current job, as a cashier in a grocery store.  And there are times when I can’t stand it.  I don’t plan on being in customer service forever (I want to work as a counselor eventually), so working as a cashier can be frustrating simply because it does nothing to prepare me for that particular career path.

But, even though I would rather be doing something else, I cannot deny the things I have learned, and I would recommend the job to anyone.

Working in customer service teaches you all sorts of life skills that unfortunately are lacking sometimes in daily life.  From working in customer service, I have learned how to be patient.  I have learned humility.  I have learned the art of maintaining a positive attitude despite how I may feel that day.  The specifics of my job have taught me how to be efficient, observant, and thorough.  The people who do well in customer service must have these traits, or at least learn them, in order to survive.

Now, if somebody were to offer me a position that is more relevant to my eventual goals, I would take it in a heartbeat.  My current job is not my ideal job, and (like I said) I do not plan to work there for the rest of my life.  However, the company treats all of us pretty well, and it is a good job for my current stage in life.  And I have certainly learned some life lessons while working there.  I think if everyone worked at least a year in customer service, the world would be a kinder place.  But for now I’ll just keep smiling for those who refuse to.

