I have been longing for a big thunderstorm.  I keep missing the big storms we see in Vail, and I’ve been sad because I had not seen any big rains this summer.  But last night was the first huge storm I have seen this monsoon season, and it didn’t disappoint.  At about 1 this morning I woke up, and I wasn’t sure why.  After a while, I realized that I could hear rain outside my window-a LOT of rain. 

I laid there for a while just listening to it pouring down on our house, the occasional peal of thunder shaking our walls.  I don’t know how long I laid there in the darkness, but it was so peaceful to just be still and listen to the storm.

After a while Nason and I started talking to each other, then we went outside and watched the rain come down from our front porch.  Nason shone a flashlight through the water so we could see how much we were getting, and we were very happy with what we saw.  The rain flooded our front yard a little, and we were worried that we wouldn’t be able to go to work today because the roads by our house are prone to flooding, but everything was fine.  We went back to bed and eventually fell asleep.

As a consequence, I was pretty tired today.  But it was worth it to experience my first real storm of this monsoon season.  I’m hoping it is the first of many, and hopefully the next will be during the hours I’m actually awake.

