This morning I got really inspired.  I was reading Jamie the Very Worst Missionary’s latest post about how difficult it is to get motivated to exercise, and I found I could completely relate. 

Right before today's run.

I used to go running at the U of A’s rec center, but about 6(!) months ago I got very busy and I had to stop.  Since then, I have tried to get into the habit of running a few times a week, but it’s hard.  things come up, and then it started getting hot, and I found I could come up with all of these excuses about why I wasn’t going to run that day.  But today I realized that I was putting off something I genuinely loved to do.  So, I got off the computer, threw on my running clothes, and went to the park.

Now, the whole time I was fighting this.  I worried that it would be too hot to be enjoyable (this is Tucson, after all).  I was afraid that I would make a fool out of myself, since I had not run in so long.  And I knew that I would be sore afterwards.  But I went.

And now I’m back again.  It wasn’t too hot-painfully humid, but not too hot.  I didn’t make a fool out of myself-there was no one at the park, and I ran about a mile, based on my time, and walked a little while after that.  And I am sore, but it’s that wonderful kind of sore that comes with a physical accomplishment like running a mile after 6 months of sitting on my butt.  Was it worth it?  Absolutely.  I feel good, and healthy, and I will be doing it again.  Maybe tomorrow, and if not tomorrow, then Saturday.

So, I want to say thank you to Jamie for inspiring me to rekindle something I love.  Now that I’ve started, I don’t really want to stop!

