My glasses broke last Thursday. 

I don’t mean they lost a screw, or the lens popped out, or even the earpieces twisted.  I mean they snapped in half right down the middle.  How, you may ask?  I cleaned them.  I had the glasses in my hand, and was drying the lenses with a towel, and they broke across the nosepiece.  I stood there for a minute and stared at them dumbly, as though expecting them to say, “just kidding!” and magically fixed themselves. 

When that didn’t happen, I started to panic.  

See, I have terrible vision.  By terrible I mean I can not longer make out the big E at the top of the chart anymore-I know what it is, and I know that it is there, but it just looks like a big blob now.  Yes, my vision is that bad.  So when my glasses broke I thought for sure that I would not be able to find my way around…well, anywhere, let alone to an eye doctor.  I called my mom and told her what happened, and then I called my insurance company to find out if I was covered.  That’s how Nason found me-in tears on the phone with some poor fellow from VSP, clutching my glasses.  That night we had to be somewhere, so Nason taped them for me.  they were very ugly and embarrassing, but it was the best either of us could do at the time (which, by the way, I was incredibly grateful for).  My mom lent me her pair of glasses for the next day, so I could get to work and then to the eye doctor. 

That afternoon, after work, I went to the mall and ran around trying to make a same day appointment at one of the optical places.  I finally managed to get an appointment at Eyemasters, and after I got my new prescription (slightly higher than before-yikes I’m blind!) Nason met me there to help pick out some new glasses.  

Now, the thing I love about shopping with Nason is that he is incredibly honest.  I am not being sarcastic at all when I say this.  Nason will tell me if something doesn’t look right, and then that way I don’t walk around all day with, say, my shirt inside out, or mismatched clothes.  It is something I genuinely appreciate about him.  This honesty was something I desperately needed when it came time to pick out new glasses.  I mean, they will be sitting on my face every day for at least a year; they have to look nice.  So this is how it went: 

Me: “What do you think of these?” 

Nason: “…they make you look weird.” 

Me: “Really?  I kind of like them.” 

Nason: “Well…they don’t look bad, just big/weird/flashy.” 

Finally, I found a pair that I loved, and that Nason said weren’t as “bad as some of the others.”  I know they are similar to my old pair, but I loved my old pair, so that’s okay. 

I thought a side-by-side would be nice. It's blurry because I tried to take the picture with my glasses off. My vision actually is that bad.

 So, I can see again.  Thank goodness.

UPDATE: It was pointed out to me that I didn’t have a picture posted!  I took one and then forgot to upload it…thanks for the good catch Stephanie 🙂

