Well, a few days ago we celebrated the beginning of a new year, an opportunity to start over and make promises to make this year better than the last.  It is a time when many people are optimistic about the future, and have hope that the next 12 months will be fantastic. 

Personally, I think that New Year’s resolutions are silly.  Statistics show that 92% of New Year’s resolutions are not kept.  It is silly to think that we have to wait to start over until December 31st at midnight, or that a new year magically nullifies the things we have done.  Further, it is difficult to imagine that a new year can completely change a person, their habits and their character.  The idea is preposterous.

And yet…I have found myself caught up in the spirit of new year’s.  Even though I do not think that a new year signifies when we can start over, I know that we can begin again.  And even though the stroke of midnight can not change a person’s lifestyle or character, these seemingly unchangeable things can be altered.  People are constantly changing, and I have to hope that they are trying to change for the better-whether that happens on January 1st, February 19th or September 22nd.  Even though I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions, I believe in new beginnings.  If there is anything 2010 taught me, it was that very important lesson.

So, in the spirit of New Year’s…I am giving this blog a new beginning.  I sadly had to leave it alone for a while to take care of business, but it’s back, and shouldn’t have to go away for a while.  I gave it a fresh theme (which is a work in progress, hopefully I’ll reformat the old header to fit the new theme soon), and will soon have some fresh posts to go with it.  This, of course, is the first, and will not be the last.  I missed writing too much, and do not want to lose it again.  So, check back soon, I’ll hopefully have some new posts by the time you come back.

